BIOMASS

«The goal is to replace fossil fuel with a renewable energy source»

Alexandre Couture — Vice-president of Sequoia Industries inc.

WHAT IS BIOENERGY?

«Bioenergy is any type of energy produced from biomass. Biomass being defined as any material derived from living matter. For example, all parts of a tree are considered to be biomass. This biomass can be used as energy to produce heat. Many people are becoming more and more interested in using the biomass left behind after clear cutting. This type of biomass is commonly known as forestry residue or wood waste. Branches or non-commercial species not sought after by other industries are types of forestry residue or biomass. Bioenergy from a forest is an energy that produces very little carbon and if it comes from a stable well-managed forest, it becomes a perpetually renewable energy source. And it’s also locally produced. So for communities situated near a forest it is an accessible and reliable source of energy, available right where it’s needed. Not only resulting in the reduction of transport costs but also in aiding in the reduction of large amounts of greenhouse gas».

David Paré
Scientific Researcher

Canadian Forest Service

A WINNING FORMULA FOR OPTIMUM PERFORMANCE

Harvesting, storage and use of forest biomass are the three steps that an energy producer must take into account if he wishes to get the maximum benefit from his fuel. Useful information about the limitless biomass cycle

1st step in the limitless biomass cycle

HARVEST THE BIOMASS



DURING A FAVORABLE PERIOD

Harvesting at the right time is essential if you want good quality fuel. In the fall as the days get shorter the sap flowing through the trees starts to slow down.  It is therefore recommended that you harvest your biomass during the months of October, November, December and January. Biomass harvested during this time period dries more quickly thereby providing more efficient heat.

IT’S LIKE GARDENING

The exploitation of a forest can be done in various ways. Nevertheless Sequoia supports the idea of selective cutting, a type of arboriculture, where specific trees are selected for cutting, including windfalls, diseased, dead or decaying trees that can be harvested. This type of maintenance allows the forest to grow and thrive while letting the sun through to encourage new growth.

snow-bimoasse

FSC CERTIFICATION STANDARDS


In the field of forestry, the FSC Standard (Forest Stewardship Council) is recognized and respected worldwide. When assigned to a green space this stamp certifies that the arboriculture practiced in these areas has met with the highest standards of responsible forest management. FSC certified, some co-operative forestry groups have offered to help woodlot owners in the development of their forest.
biomasse-1

FOREST WASTE
LEFT BEHIND

biomasse-3

BIOMASS TAKEN
FROM THE FOREST

 

biomasse-4

SELECTIVE CUTTING
UNDER FSC STANDARDS

 

2nd step in the limitless biomass cycle

STORING THE BIOMASS


DRYING PERIOD

Did you know that over half the weight found in a freshly cut log is water? If you were to burn this log the same day as you cut it a large portion of the heat generated would be used to evaporate this water. It is therefore recommended that you store your wood for a minimum of 24 months in order to gain the maximum of thermal heat found therein.

wood

THE PROPER WAY


To keep the moisture content of your biomass as low as possible start by choosing the desired length of your log. Then as soon as it’s cut and split place it in stackable racks. This storage system removes the logs from the damp earth and increases the drying process.  The best idea is to leave these racks outside during the summer; the sun helps to burn off the moisture content while the wind blows it away. However as summer draws to a close and the rainy autumn begins it is important to store the biomass in a well-ventilated shelter.
pic-1

CUTTING DOWN THE BIOMASS

pic-2

SPLITTING THE BIOMASS

pic-3

DRYING THE BIOMASS AIDED
BY THE SUN AND THE WIND

pic-4

STORING THE BIOMASS
IN A WELL-VENTILATED SHELTER

ACHEIVING « SOLID BIOMASS FUEL» CERTIFICATION

Today, based on its own standards for «solid biomass fuel», Sequoia is able to determine if a biomass is ready for energy production or still needs a little more time. Biomass that has been properly stored for a minimum of 24 months normally produces a biomass that is in compliance with this standard. Under these conditions the biomass reaches a humidity level equal to the surrounding ambient air which is under 24%.

biomasse-sign

LIGHTENING THE LOAD

In addition to increasing the thermal efficiency of the biomass the Sequoia storage method has another advantage, lighter fuel for the energy producer. A cord of freshly cut hardwood (4’x4’x8′) weighs around 5 500 lbs. (2 494 kg). However once its humidity level has been lowered to the same level as the surrounding ambient air this same cord of wood weighs around 3 100 lbs. (1 406 kg).  Therefore each log has lost about 40 % of its bulk thus becoming much easier to handle.

wood-burn

LIGHTER BIOMASS

corde-bois-2

LIGHTER BIOMASS ON AVERAGE A CORD OF (4'x4'x8') WOOD CONTAINS 168 LOGS

3rd step in the limitless biomass cycle

EXPLOITING THE BIOMASS


REGARDLESS OF THE SPECIES IS

Having fuel with a low humidity level is great. But in order for it to reach its full potential it must also have an efficient heating system. The Blue Sky energy generator from Sequoia was designed so that any type of forestry biomass would produce maximum heat.  So you can use wood from your own woodlot regardless of the species or condition.

fire

ECONOMIC AND EFFICIENT


The moisture content found in the fuel greatly influences the performance level of the biomass system. The dryer the biomass the more power and heat generated plus less fuel is consumed by the generator. On the flip side the damper the biomass the less power and heat generated plus more fuel is consumed by the generator.


A fallen, diseased, dead or rotting tree has little or no market value. However once it has been harvested and has passed through the limitless biomass cycle it becomes a renewable energy source that’s worth its weight in gold. If it is prepared properly this source of carbon neutral clean energy fuel provides significant savings when used in a Blue Sky energy generator.

LEARN MORE ›


WHAT IS THE CARBON MARKET?

On January 1st 2013 Quebec launched a cap and trade system for greenhouse gas emission rights (SPEDE) – commonly referred to as « the carbon market » A year later on January 1st 2014, Quebec officially linked its system to that of California as part of the Western Climate Initiative (WCI). Quebec thus became a pioneer in the largest carbon market in North America and the first carbon market to be exploited by the heads of state from other countries. Revenue from the carbon market is sent to the Green Fund where the total amount is then reinvested to help implement the 2013-2020 Action Plan on Climate Change (PACC 2013-2020), whose measures will help reduce GHG emissions. Besides helping to build a stronger economy Quebec has now become a frontrunner in reducing carbon emissions and in supporting climate change.

dev-durable-quebec

INTERESTED IN PRODUCING ENERGY?

COME TELL US ABOUT YOUR PROJECT ›

BIOMASSE

«Le but, c’est de remplacer une énergie fossile par une énergie renouvelable.»

Alexandre Couture — Vice-président de Sequoia Industries inc.

QU'EST-CE QUE LA BIOÉNERGIE?

« La bioénergie, c’est toute forme d’énergie qui est produite à partir de la biomasse. Et on peut définir la biomasse comme toute matière provenant du vivant. Par exemple, toutes les parties d’un arbre sont considérées comme de la biomasse. Cette biomasse peut être utilisée en combustion directe pour produire de la chaleur. Il y a un intérêt grandissant pour l'utilisation de la biomasse des parterres de coupes. C’est ce que l’on appelle les résidus forestiers. Ces résidus sont constitués de branches ou d’essences non commerciales qui ne sont pas convoitées par d’autres industries. La bioénergie qui provient de la forêt est une énergie qui produit très peu de carbone et si elle provient d’un aménagement forestier durable, elle devient une source d’énergie qui est renouvelable à perpétuité. C’est aussi une source d’énergie qui est produite localement. Donc, pour les communautés qui vivent près de la forêt, c’est une source d’énergie qui est accessible et qui est fiable. Cette énergie est déjà disponible à l’endroit où on en a besoin. Elle sauve non seulement des coûts de transport mais aussi de grandes quantités de gaz à effet de serre ».

rnc-2

David Paré

Chercheur scientifique

Service canadien des forêts

LA FORMULE GAGNANTE POUR UN RENDEMENT OPTIMAL

La récolte, l’entreposage et l’exploitation de la biomasse forestière sont les trois étapes dont un producteur d’énergie doit tenir compte s’il désire obtenir le rendement optimal de son combustible.

Renseignements utiles à propos du cycle infini de la biomasse

1re étape du cycle infini de la biomasse

RÉCOLTER LA BIOMASSE



EN PÉRIODE FAVORABLE

Pour obtenir un combustible de qualité, il faut d’abord le récolter au bon moment. À l’automne, la vitesse à laquelle circule la sève dans l’arbre diminue à mesure que les jours raccourcissent. Il est donc recommandé d’effectuer votre récolte durant les mois d’octobre, novembre, décembre et janvier. Une biomasse récoltée au cours de cette période sèche plus rapidement et de ce fait, procure un meilleur rendement calorifique.


À LA MANIÈRE D’UN JARDINIER

L’exploitation d’une forêt peut être réalisée de différentes façons. Sequoia préconise néanmoins la coupe de jardinage, une pratique sylvicole à travers laquelle des arbres malades, tombés, morts ou en décomposition peuvent être récoltés. Ce type d’intervention consiste à entretenir la forêt de manière à ce qu’elle puisse grandir et s’épanouir tout en permettant au soleil de trouver les jeunes pousses prometteuses.

snow-bimoasse

SELON LA NORME DE CERTIFICATION FSC


Dans le domaine de la foresterie, la norme FSC (Forest Stewardship Council) est reconnue et respectée mondialement. Lorsqu’elle est attribuée à un espace vert,  cette marque atteste que les interventions sylvicoles pratiquées en ces lieux répondent aux plus hauts standards en matière d’aménagement forestier responsable. Certifiés FSC, certains groupements forestiers coopératifs offrent leur appui aux propriétaires de boisés en les accompagnant dans la mise en valeur de leur forêt.
biomasse-1

RÉSIDUS
FORESTIERS
ABANDONNÉS

biomasse-3

BIOMASSE
RETIRÉE
DE LA FORÊT

 

biomasse-4

COUPE JARDINIÈRE
RÉALISÉE SELON
LA NORME FSC

 

2e étape du cycle infini de la biomasse

ENTREPOSER LA BIOMASSE


LE TEMPS DU SÉCHAGE

Saviez-vous qu’une bûche fraîchement coupée contient plus de la moitié de son poids en eau? Si cette bûche est brûlée le jour même de sa production, une grande partie de la chaleur produite servira à évaporer l’eau qu’elle contient. Afin d’en accroître le rendement calorifique, il est donc recommandé de l’entreposer pour une période minimale de 24 mois.

wood

DE FAÇON ADÉQUATE


Pour abaisser le taux d’humidité de votre biomasse, il faut d’abord en faire le tronçonnement à la longueur désirée. Une fois débitée et fendue, il est conseillé de la placer aussitôt dans des structures d’entreposage empilables. Ce système de classement éloigne les bûches des sols humides, augmentant ainsi l’efficacité du séchage. Il est préférable de disposer les structures d’entreposage à l’extérieur durant l’été ; le soleil contribue à l’évaporation de l’eau à l’intérieur du bois et le vent balaie cette humidité au loin. Mais lorsque la belle saison tire à sa fin, il est primordial d’entreposer le combustible sous un abri ventilé et ce, avant les grandes pluies de l’automne.
pic-1

DÉBITAGE DE LA BIOMASSE

pic-2

FENDAGE DE LA BIOMASSE

pic-3

SÉCHAGE DE LA BIOMASSE
PAR LE SOLEIL ET LE VENT

pic-4

ENTREPOSAGE DE LA BIOMASSE
DANS UN ABRI VENTILÉ

AFIN D’ATTEINDRE LA CERTIFICATION
«COMBUSTIBLE SOLIDE BIOMASSE»

Par l’entremise de sa propre norme «combustible solide biomasse», Sequoia est aujourd’hui en mesure de déterminer si une biomasse est prête pour la production d’énergie ou seulement en voie de l’être. Un entreposage adéquat, maintenu sur une période minimale de 24 mois, conduit généralement à l’obtention d’une biomasse conforme à cette norme. Dans ces conditions, la biomasse obtient un taux d’humidité en équilibre avec l’air ambiant, se situant alors sous la barre des 24 %.

biomasse-sign

POUR EN ALLÉGER LA MANIPULATION

En plus d’accroître le rendement calorifique de la biomasse, la méthode d’entreposage Sequoia a pour avantage de procurer aux producteurs d’énergie un combustible plus léger. En effet, une corde de bois franc (4’x4’x8′) fraîchement coupée pèse environ 5 500 lb (2 494 kg). Mais une fois son taux d’humidité en équilibre avec l’air ambiant, cette même corde de bois pèse environ 3 100 lb (1 406 kg). Chaque morceau a donc perdu environ 40 % de sa masse et est devenu, par conséquent, beaucoup plus facile à manipuler.

wood-burn

BIOMASSE ALLÉGÉE

corde-bois-2

UNE CORDE DE BOIS (4'x4'x8') COMPORTE EN MOYENNE 168 MORCEAUX

3e étape du cycle infini de la biomasse

EXPLOITER LA BIOMASSE


TOUTES ESSENCES CONFONDUES

Posséder un combustible à faible taux d’humidité, c’est bien. Mais pour en exploiter le plein potentiel, encore faut-il disposer d’un appareil de chauffage suffisamment efficace. Le générateur d’énergie Blue Sky de Sequoia est conçu pour assurer une combustion optimale de la biomasse forestière et ce, toutes essences confondues. Vous pouvez donc l’alimenter avec du bois prélevé dans votre propre boisé, sans même tenir compte de son essence ou de son état.

fire

DE FAÇON ÉCONOMIQUE ET PERFORMANTE


Le taux d’humidité contenu dans le combustible a une grande influence sur le niveau de performances qu’offre un système à la biomasse. Plus la biomasse utilisée est sèche, plus l’appareil génère de chaleur, plus il offre de puissance et plus il diminue sa consommation de combustible. À l’inverse, plus la biomasse utilisée est humide, moins l’appareil génère de chaleur, moins il offre de puissance et plus il augmente sa consommation de combustible.

stats-2
Un arbre malade, tombé, mort ou en décomposition a peu ou aucune valeur marchande. Toutefois, lorsqu’il est récolté et qu’il passe à travers les étapes du cycle infini de la biomasse, il prend la forme d’une ressource énergétique renouvelable qui vaut son pesant d’or. Utilisée comme combustible dans un générateur Blue Sky, cette source d’énergie propre à carbone neutre procure d’importantes économies à qui sait la préparer adéquatement.

En savoir plus ›

reduction-carbonne

QU’EST-CE QUE LE MARCHÉ DU CARBONE?

Le système québécois de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre (SPEDE) - communément appelé « marché du carbone » - a officiellement été lancé le 1er janvier 2013. Un an plus tard, le 1er janvier 2014, le Québec liait officiellement son système à celui de la Californie dans le cadre de la Western Climate Iniative (WCI). Ce faisant, il devenait l’un des pionniers du plus grand marché du carbone en Amérique du Nord et du premier marché du carbone à être exploité par des États de pays différents. Les revenus issus du marché du carbone sont versés au Fonds vert et réinvestis en totalité dans la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action 2013-2020 sur les changements climatiques (PACC 2013-2020), dont les mesures favoriseront la réduction des émissions de GES et, l'adaptation du Québec aux conséquences des changements climatiques, en plus d'accélérer le virage vers une économie forte, novatrice et de plus en plus sobre en carbone.


dev-durable-quebec

DEVENIR PRODUCTEUR D’ÉNERGIE, CELA VOUS INTÉRESSE ?

FAITES-NOUS PART DE VOTRE PROJET ›