Project realized 2012MunicipalityChurch, rectory and municipal building

Yves Laurencelle

«We have silenced the skeptics»

Yves LaurencelleDevelopment Officer

Excerpt from the February 2013 article in LE NORD-CÔTIER


A SMOKELESS STEEPLE IN LONGUE-RIVE

Longue-Rive – Since December 14 of last year faithful parishioners of the Saint-Paul de Longue-Rive church have been quite toasty. This place of worship built in the 1890’s is heated by nothing less than a Blue Sky boiler, sold by Sequoia Industries of Saint-Denis-de-Brompton. This economic innovation is not only environmentally friendly but also offers autonomy and well-being.

TEXTS
SHIRLEY KENNEDY
Journalist

In order to slash the astronomical heating costs on three adjoining buildings, the rectory, church and municipal building, the St-Paul de Longue-Rive parish together with the municipality and without any government assistance, invested 80 000$ for the acquisition of a Blue Sky energy generator. «Since December, the rectory and church have been heated solely with the Blue Sky boiler however over the coming weeks the municipal building will also be connected», states Yves Laurencelle Development Officer for Longue-Rive, who strongly believes that they will have a return on their investment in as little as 2 -1/2 years. «The cost to heat these three building was around 50 000$ per year. With this new heating system which we simply had to connect to the existing system, we now anticipate a cost of no more than 10 000$ per year». Fed with 4 foot logs furnished at a low price by Ushkuai, the local forestry company, the Blue Sky boiler has an intelligent emission control system that allows it to generate energy without emitting the slightest bit of smoke(...).

Yves Laurencelle, Development Office for the municipality of Longue-Rive, piloted this project in concert with the Saint-Paul parish board. In a few weeks the municipal building will also be heated by the Blue Sky boiler.

yves-laurencelle-2

A community becomes involved


A kingdom of volunteers if there ever was one, the municipality of Longue-Rive is aided by a team of 20 volunteers who take turns feeding the boiler every 8 hours. «Even during the recent cold weather the temperature in the church never went below 74 degrees Fahrenheit. And at midnight mass on December 24 we silenced the skeptics by cranking the thermostat up to a balmy 84 degrees. I have to tell you it didn’t take long for the ladies (sic) to take off their coats», jokes Mr. Laurencelle. Thus even at 40 degrees below zero with the wind chill factor the oil and electric heating systems in the Saint-Paul church were never used during January. In recent years it cost the Saint-Paul parish approximately 2 000$ and 1 500$ per month for electricity and oil respectively. «However wood consumption has been very reasonable as between January 15 and February 24 we have used only three cords of 4 foot logs per week, which amounts to a semi-trailer load every 6 weeks», he concluded.

THIS STORY FIRES THE IMAGINATION?

TELL US ABOUT YOUR PROJECT ›

Réalisation 2012MunicipalitéÉglise, presbytère et édifice municipal

Yves Laurencelle

«Nous avons confondu
les sceptiques.»

Yves LaurencelleAgent de développement

Extrait de l’article paru en février 2013 dans le journal LE NORD-CÔTIER


UN CLOCHER SANS FUMÉE À LONGUE-RIVE

Longue-Rive – Depuis le 14 décembre dernier, les fidèles de l’église Saint-Paul de Longue-Rive se tiennent au chaud. En effet, le système de chauffage de ce lieu de culte érigé à la fin des années 1890 est alimenté par la chaudière Blue Sky, commercialisée par Sequoia Industries de Saint-Denis-de-Brompton. Une innovation économique qui procure autonomie et bien-être tout en respectant l’environnement.

TEXTES
SHIRLEY KENNEDY
Journaliste

De concert avec la municipalité, la fabrique St-Paul de Longue-Rive, sans aide financière gouvernementale quelconque, a investi 80 000$ pour l’acquisition de la Blue Sky afin d’économiser sur les coûts astronomiques de chauffage sur les trois bâtiments adjacents que sont le presbytère, l’église et l’édifice municipal. «Depuis décembre, le presbytère et l’église sont chauffés exclusivement avec la chaudière Blue Sky et l’édifice municipal y sera raccordé d’ici quelques semaines», explique l’agent de développement de la municipalité de Longue-Rive, Yves Laurencelle, qui soutient que le retour sur l’investissement sera réalisé en 2 ans et demi. «Pour les trois bâtiments, nous devions faire face à des coûts de chauffage d’environ 50 000$ par année. Nous prévoyons qu’il nous en coûtera désormais 10 000$ par an avec ce nouveau système de chauffage que nous avons simplement raccordé à l’ancien système en place.» Alimenté avec des bûches de bois de 4 pieds de longueur fournies à prix dérisoire par l’entreprise forestière locale Ushkuai, le module Blue Sky est doté d’un dispositif antipollution intelligent qui permet de générer de l’énergie sans la moindre émission de fumée (...).

Yves Laurencelle, agent de développement de la municipalité de Longue-Rive, a piloté ce dossier de concert avec le conseil de la fabrique Saint-Paul. D’ici quelques semaines, l’édifice municipal sera également chauffé avec le module Blue Sky.

yves-laurencelle-2

Une communauté impliquée


Royaume du bénévolat s’il en est un, la municipalité de Longue-Rive profite d’une équipe de 20 bénévoles qui se relaient toutes les 8 heures pour alimenter la chaudière. «Dans les grands froids que nous avons connus dernièrement, la température de l’église ne descendait jamais sous les 74 degrés Fahrenheit. Et lors de la messe de minuit le 24 décembre, nous avons confondu les sceptiques en montant le thermostat à 84 degrés. Je dois vous dire que les madames (sic) enlevaient leurs manteaux», blague M. Laurencelle. Ainsi, même par 40 degrés sous zéro avec le facteur vent, les systèmes de chauffage électrique et à l’huile de l’église Saint-Paul sont demeurés inactifs en janvier dernier. Alors qu’au cours des dernières années, il en coûtait à la fabrique Saint-Paul environ 2 000$ et 1 500$ par mois en factures d’électricité et d’huile. «Et pour la consommation de bois, c’est très raisonnable puisqu’entre le 15 janvier et le 24 février, nous avons écoulé environ trois cordes de bûches de 4 pieds par semaine, ce qui signifie un chargement de semi-remorque toutes les six semaines», a-t-il conclu.

CE TÉMOIGNAGE VOUS ALLUME ?

FAITES-NOUS PART DE VOTRE PROJET ›